Log in

Supporting and developing the professionalisation of youth ministry around the world

Log in

Our Board

Members of the executive committee are elected by the IASYM members present at the international conferences. Each board member is elected for at period of four years.

Chair of the executive board

Shantelle Weber

The executive board of the International Association for the Study of Youth Ministry is pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Shantelle Weber as our incoming chair and President of the Association.

Professor Weber’s appointment marks a significant new era for the leadership of the association, being the first female and person of colour to hold this role.

Professor Weber is Associate Professor in the The Faculty of Theology at Stellenbosch University in South Africa, where she lectures in youth work. She received her doctoral degree from Stellenbosch University in 2014. Her research interests include faith formation, child theology, African youth and youth ministry, youth development, and practical theology.

Shantelle has been a member of the IASYM since 2011 and was first elected to the executive board at the Members’ Meeting in London in 2015.

Shantelle says, “I had no idea that my heart and passion for seeing young people equipped and empowered for the purpose for which God has called them, would lead to becoming president of this association. Young people remain a marginalized group in our churches and societies. Let's contend for their holistic wellbeing, growth and development as we engage and include them in theological endeavour. Let's contend for creative and sustainable youth ministry practice and research.”

Members of the executive board

Not a
member yet?

Join us and boost your career!

Homepage is being updated...


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software